WorldSpot.net forum

English forums => General Discussion => Topic started by: Franxis on March 08, 2007, 04:20:50 pm

Title: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: Franxis on March 08, 2007, 04:20:50 pm
I am running v23sp2 and everything works great with both the LAN and the WLAN until I activate Chilli.  I am not able to pass DHCP with Chilli unless I select both LAN/WLAN under the settings.  At that point it works but I am really only wanting to use chilli for the wireless portion.  I have enabled/disabled the Separate Wifi from the LAN bridge and in both cases it will only work if the DHCP interface is set to WLAN/LAN.  When I issue the route command I see the 192.168.182.x network present in both instances.

Has anyone else had this issue?  Is this a known bug?

Thanks
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: WorldSpot on March 08, 2007, 05:05:50 pm
Please check the DNS address.
If it doesn't work please revert to factory settings then reboot, then reinstall.
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: Franxis on March 08, 2007, 11:15:01 pm
I have used several dns servers - currently I am using a combination of both 4.2.2.2 and my local provider.  Where would you like me to check as I not sure I am checking in the right spot.


~ # ping radius.worldspot.net
PING radius.worldspot.net (88.191.29.2): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 88.191.29.2: icmp_seq=0 ttl=45 time=119.8 ms
64 bytes from 88.191.29.2: icmp_seq=1 ttl=45 time=198.0 ms
64 bytes from 88.191.29.2: icmp_seq=2 ttl=45 time=180.1 ms

PING radius2.worldspot.net (82.243.41.29): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 82.243.41.29: icmp_seq=0 ttl=46 time=155.8 ms
64 bytes from 82.243.41.29: icmp_seq=1 ttl=46 time=421.7 ms
64 bytes from 82.243.41.29: icmp_seq=2 ttl=46 time=392.0 ms

Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: WorldSpot on March 08, 2007, 11:44:52 pm
I didn't understand, sorry  :-[. Your chillispot was working only with both lan and wlan.

Have you made a factory reset? It often helps.

What is your hardware? Is it a linksys?
I tested the separation on both linksys wrt54gl and asus wl500gd with no problem (I'm only using it this way).
Maybe on some hardware, the device names are not the same...
You can check the device names with ifconfig and check that it is the same in the /tmp/chilli.conf
You should also run chillispot in debug mode ( chilli -fd -c /tmp/chilli.conf )

Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: Franxis on March 09, 2007, 02:09:48 am
I tried that several times thus far and I am still not able to get dhcp to work unless I allow dhcp interface to be on the wlan/lan at the same time.  When I run the debug mode it just hangs.
Any info I can give you to help?
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: WorldSpot on March 09, 2007, 12:20:34 pm
Quote
When I run the debug mode it just hangs.
Do you get the chillispot welcome message?
Quote
Any info I can give you to help?
Quote
What is your hardware? Is it a linksys?
Quote
Have you made a factory reset? It often helps.
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: Franxis on March 11, 2007, 11:08:39 pm
When I run the Debug it hangs on the Welcome Message.

Linksys WRT54G version 2.0

About 10 factory resets and uploading code inbetween.
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: WorldSpot on March 11, 2007, 11:47:07 pm
please type ifconfig and paste the content here
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: Franxis on March 12, 2007, 03:23:00 am

~ # ifconfig
br0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0F:66:0A:20:BD 
          inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:691 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:699 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:91325 (89.1 KiB)  TX bytes:167150 (163.2 KiB)

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0F:66:0A:20:BD 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1760 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1163 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:246766 (240.9 KiB)  TX bytes:263765 (257.5 KiB)
          Interrupt:5

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0F:66:0A:20:BF 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING ALLMULTI MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:99
          TX packets:0 errors:110 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:76 (76.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:4 Base address:0x1000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:892 (892.0 B)  TX bytes:892 (892.0 B)

tun0      Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 
          inet addr:192.168.182.1  P-t-P:192.168.182.1  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:10
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

vlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0F:66:0A:20:BD 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:703 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:705 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:95026 (92.7 KiB)  TX bytes:170330 (166.3 KiB)

vlan1     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0F:66:0A:20:BE 
          inet addr:X.X.X.X  Bcast:X..X.X  Mask:255.255.248.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1048 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:461 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:119135 (116.3 KiB)  TX bytes:88824 (86.7 KiB)

This is a new Error: It used to just hang

 # chilli -fd -c /tmp/chilli.conf
chillispot[526]: ChilliSpot 1.0. Copyright 2002-2005 Mondru AB. Licensed under GPL. See http://www.chillispot.org for credits.
chillispot[526]: radius.c: 1020: calloc() failed
chillispot[526]: chilli.c: 3689: Failed to create radius
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: Franxis on March 12, 2007, 03:55:47 am
I thought this might be helpful:


radiusserver1 radius.worldspot.net
radiusserver2 radius2.worldspot.net
radiussecret x.x.x.x.x.x.x.
dhcpif eth1
uamserver https://secure.worldspot.net/wk/Uam
dns1 4.2.2.2
uamsecret x.x.x.x
radiusnasid QuizMo456
dynip 192.168.182.0/25



# ps
  PID  Uid     VmSize Stat Command
    1 root        376 S   /sbin/init noinitrd
    2 root            SW  [keventd]
    3 root            SWN [ksoftirqd_CPU0]
    4 root            SW  [kswapd]
    5 root            SW  [bdflush]
    6 root            SW  [kupdated]
   11 root            SW  [mtdblockd]
   14 root        256 S   /sbin/watchdog
   65 root        308 S   resetbutton
   95 root        396 S   /usr/sbin/telnetd
   98 root        796 S   httpd
  107 root        416 S   nas -P /tmp/nas.wl0lan.pid -H 34954 -l br0 -i eth1 -A -m 4 -k xxxxx -s QuizMo456 -w
  109 root        360 S   dnsmasq --conf-file /tmp/dnsmasq.conf
  113 root        296 S   /sbin/wland
  293 root       4836 S   /usr/sbin/chilli -c /tmp/chilli.conf
  321 root        340 S   process_monitor
  367 root        276 S   /usr/sbin/cron
  408 root        268 S   udhcpc -i vlan1 -p /var/run/udhcpc.pid -s /tmp/udhcpc -H SRVT5R
  412 root        524 S   -sh
  469 root        404 R   ps
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: WorldSpot on March 12, 2007, 08:21:05 am
Quote
chillispot[526]: radius.c: 1020: calloc() failed
Seems that you don't have enough memory

Could you try the coova AP firmware?
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: Franxis on March 12, 2007, 02:49:57 pm
I am willing to give it a try but that is the only time I got that error and I spent an additional 5 hours troubleshooting.  The strange this is that this worked the first time I set it up until I changed the dhcp settings.  Also it works like a charm if I select WLAN/LAN and my intitial thought is that probably would take more memory to run?

I reset and reloaded firmware 5 more times.  I also reset to factory defaults before and after the upgrades.

Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: WorldSpot on March 12, 2007, 04:56:35 pm
there have been reports of similar problems:
Quote
I would always recommend factory defaults when hanging firmware on dd-wrt. Particularly with chillispot which seems to break if you touch it's DHCP Interface. It simply stops working and needs a factory reset to get chilli working again.
http://worldspot.net/forum/index.php/topic,13.msg316.html#msg316
It seems that it is related to your linksys model also.
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: Franxis on March 12, 2007, 06:00:47 pm
I think I have done about 20 or so factory resets.  Still does not work.
I have been working on it now and I just went through a factory default, uploaded code, factory default, factory default, and then configuration.

Still will not work unless I put both WLAN/LAN as DHCP interface. 

I am going to put it back to linksys firmware, factory default, reload dd-wrt v23sp2, factory defaults, reboot, factory defaults, and this time not touch the dhcp portion.
I will send you my results.  Did any of my above information help?  I think it is a bug at this point that is why I am attempting to continue troubleshooting.

Thanks
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: DenbyWireless on March 12, 2007, 10:17:49 pm
Would you consider using SP3 to see if it makes a difference ? It's out there on dd-wrt's site.  Just an idea.
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: WorldSpot on March 12, 2007, 10:19:06 pm
I don't know what is the cause of your troubles.
I'm suspecting the lack of memory.
You should definitely try coova beta 4 as it consumes less memory than the official chillispot.
With the automatic configuration, setup is quite fast.
sp3 could help... don't know.
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: Franxis on March 13, 2007, 12:02:00 am
I went to that release about half way through.  I think I am going to buy another router but this evening I am going to give it one more shot.  I went through several factory resets and uploading freshly downloaded v23sp2 code.  It still will not work unless both the WLAN/LAN are selected.
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: Franxis on March 13, 2007, 09:00:02 pm
Last night I got a brand new WRTG v3.1 and tried - I was unsucessful in getting it working with either WLAN/LAN or just WLAN configured as the DHCP interface.  I also tried the newer v23SP3 code.  I Wonder if my hot spot account is not functioning correctly.  That is about all I Can think of at this point.
Any suggestions would be helpful.
Thanks
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: WorldSpot on March 14, 2007, 12:04:55 am
It cannot be your worldspot account. To reach the landing page, no radius request is made.

I've just retested a dd-wrt sp2 on a linksys wrt54gl and have the opposite problem:
It didn't work with wlan+lan and no separation for wifi: dhcp ok, I can ping 192.168.182.1 but no dns response.
I've reverted to wlan only + wifi separation and it worked well (after some time)
Then went back to previous settings, and it worked !  ???

Then I can't make it fail again :(

Just wondering if there is something related to the clock. Please type date, then check that the clock is ok.

Could you please try to ping  192.168.182.1 then 88.191.29.2 (the worldspot server) from your client.
when you ping google.com do you get an ip?
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: Franxis on March 14, 2007, 01:11:26 am
I agree it is not my account.  I actually was successful at getting it to work once today.  I used the v23sp3 on my version 3.1 WRTG54G.  I was playing with the VLAN settings when I got it work well.

Then I wanted the true test and rebooted the router and lost wireless and the ability to get dhcp. so back to square one.

 I have given up for this evening but thank you for the reply.  I believe I am going to buy another router tommorrow and try with a different model. 

Could you please try to ping  192.168.182.1 then 88.191.29.2 (the worldspot server) from your client.
when you ping google.com do you get an ip?

From my client or actual router?  The client never gets an ip address as dhcp times out.  I am confused by your request.  I am still really excited about getting this working cause I can see lots of great uses.

Also I am a comcast user and I go back and forth between enable / disable STP - Can you elaborate?  STP to me = spanning tree protocol but not sure why comcast users would need to disable it or if it stands for something else.
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: WorldSpot on March 14, 2007, 01:29:54 am
Quote
The client never gets an ip address as dhcp times out
Ok it is not the same I had.

Have you tried to disable the internal dhcp server?

Quote
Also I am a comcast user and I go back and forth between enable / disable STP - Can you elaborate?  STP to me = spanning tree protocol but not sure why comcast users would need to disable it or if it stands for something else.
I don't know. Is it cable modem?

If it still doesn't work, please download the coova.org beta 4 firmware and follow the worldspot documentation. Just try it. It will be interresting to know if it works better.
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: Franxis on March 14, 2007, 03:40:31 pm
Well I now have a brick or close to a brick.  I can ping it but can not telnet or http to the device.  That was the result of going from a DD-wrt firmware to a coova.org beta 4 firmware.  I didnt want to risk my only other router with another shot.  Again I got it working last night for about 10 mins without the WLAN/LAN setting and I Really feel it is VLAN related.  I keep changing the VLAN settnigs for the Wireless portion and somehow between checking and unchecking the box for the VLAN 0 , VLAN 1 for wirless it works but not really well.  This is a version 3.1 WRTG router and I seem to have a bit better luck with this one than the 2.0 version. 
I will keep digging and I am attempting to buy a new router today.  I do not know how good my chances will be of getting a linksys that is a good version.
Thanks!
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: WorldSpot on March 14, 2007, 04:16:28 pm
Quote
Well I now have a brick or close to a brick.  I can ping it but can not telnet or http to the device.
Too bad  :(
Quote
That was the result of going from a DD-wrt firmware to a coova.org beta 4 firmware.
I made this several times.
have you tried to use tftp?

There is something strange. How could you buy a v3.1 wrt? They are at version 6 actually (which is not compatible)
Lot of people is using a linksys wrt54gl, but it has few memory (only 16mb) which is too low if you want many clients.
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: Franxis on March 14, 2007, 04:49:56 pm
Sorry I should have clarified.  I didnt buy the 3.1 version I had it tucked away.  I am a network engineer and the company I work for had several to get rid of and I was offered a few so I took one.

Now if I go out and buy one today are you suggesting I buy the wrt54GL ?
Thanks

As far as clients go I would only want to support possibly 10 tops.
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: WorldSpot on March 14, 2007, 05:09:05 pm
I have a wrt54gl for testing. It works fine, but haven't tested with lot of clients.
with chillispot running, there is only about 500kb memory left.
The official chillispot process takes about 5mb of ram.
The alternative coova chillispot takes less than 2mb.

I also have 2 very good asus wl500gd (which is not sold anymore) with 32mb of ram and usb ports. compatible with all wrt firmwares.

This is strange that you can't make it run with coova or dd-wrt.
If you are a network engineer, you should try openwrt (coova is based on latest openwrt and should be very close). If it works, switch to coova, or install (coova) chillispot in openwrt.
Not that hard.
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: Franxis on March 14, 2007, 06:17:04 pm
Just got a few more routers and I will try different firmware on each of them.  Just picked up two WRTGS version 2.1's from a friend at work.  Hopefully I can get it to run.  The crazy thing is I set it up for a friend with a WRt54G v2 with not a single problem. I still feel it has something to do with VLAN's though.
Thanks
Title: Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
Post by: Franxis on March 20, 2007, 01:20:56 am
Atlas I have given up.  I haven't been able to make this work with a multitude of different routers and versions.  I did just notice someone had the same issue as me and fixed it by adding a net command of the 192.168.182.x in the options field.  one last desperate attempt.