Author Topic: Does wordspot work with AccessPoints from open-mesh.com?  (Read 31658 times)

Offline electric

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 56
Does wordspot work with AccessPoints from open-mesh.com?
« on: March 18, 2012, 09:46:06 pm »
Hello,
I am considering to purchase a few access points from open-mesh.com.  Specifically these:

http://www.open-mesh.com/index.php/professional/om2p-us.html

Will this work with wordspot software?  Are there any "gotchas"?

Also, I will be using the unbranded subscription with wordspot.  Do I need to purchase multiple subscriptions? (One for each acess point.)  Or is a single subscription sufficient?

My "mesh network" will have three (maybe four) devices.

Thanks.

Offline WorldSpot

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2470
Re: Does wordspot work with AccessPoints from open-mesh.com?
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2012, 11:54:45 am »
Hello


Yes Worldspot is fully compatible with open-mesh.


For subscriptions, you will have to use firmwareNG to have a single subscription working for your mesh.
Otherwise you would need one per node.


Best regards

Offline ouest-mesh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
Re: Does wordspot work with AccessPoints from open-mesh.com?
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2012, 05:04:36 pm »
Flashing with "ng" firmware is simple.
You can also flash Engenius EOC-2611p routers with the same firmware....

Offline ouest-mesh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
Re: Does wordspot work with AccessPoints from open-mesh.com?
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2012, 04:02:06 pm »
I have a 3 node Open-Mesh network using "ng-r397" firmware.
Which MAC address do I use to create the subscription?
The gateway node maybe...?

Offline WorldSpot

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2470
Re: Does wordspot work with AccessPoints from open-mesh.com?
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2012, 04:17:45 pm »
Hi


The general method to determine your mac address is to make a connection attempt in the hotspot, then look at the hotspot session history, the hotspot mac address is given in one of the rightmost columns.

Offline ouest-mesh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
Re: Does wordspot work with AccessPoints from open-mesh.com?
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2012, 04:41:59 pm »
But devices on the site connect to different nodes, so 3 different macs will appear.
I'll set up the subcription with the gateway node mac and see how it goes...

Offline WorldSpot

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2470
Re: Does wordspot work with AccessPoints from open-mesh.com?
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2012, 04:44:20 pm »
Not with ng firmware. The hotspot is only on the gateway node, other nodes are just repeaters.
You can check this in the hotspot session history, the mac address is displayed for each connection.

Offline ouest-mesh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
Re: Does wordspot work with AccessPoints from open-mesh.com?
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2012, 05:11:00 pm »
OK I see.
Thanks.

Offline wbrettw

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 29
Re: Does wordspot work with AccessPoints from open-mesh.com?
« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2012, 04:57:12 pm »
I tested this, and indeed only the gateway node mac appears in the connection history, even when the device has connected to another node.
Thanks again.

 

anything