Author Topic: DHCP server not assigning correctly  (Read 6725 times)

Offline Campagnola

DHCP server not assigning correctly
« on: April 24, 2012, 06:34:02 am »
Running the latest version of CoovaAP on a wrt54gs ver 2. Using CoovaChilli UAM as the HotSpot Type to run a worldspot hotspot.
Lan DHCP service is Enabled with starting address as 192.168.10.100 with giving out 100 addresses.
The problem is that it starts to give out the addresses at 192.168.10.2.
Why would it do this?
Is this a CoovaAP issue or something to do with the worldspot setup?
I'm hoping it will stop at 192.168.10.100. If so I can fix my static IP's I have already set on my network to something in the .200 range.
I'm a bit of a novice at this so I suppose I need to do some more changing of settings and see what happens.
But any help would be appreciated.

Offline WorldSpot

• Administrator
Re: DHCP server not assigning correctly
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2012, 11:30:58 am »
Hello

The DHCP service should be done by coovaChilli, not by the LAN dhcp server.
So you should disable the LAN dhcp server.
You must not set the lan IP subnet to the same subnet as coovaChilli uses.

Also, if you have a private network, you should separate it from the public network (if you want it separated)

Best regards

Offline Campagnola

« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2012, 06:52:46 am »
Well thought I bricked my router but was able to get it back though telnet doing a reset.

I've signed up for a worldspot account and subscribed this router I'm having trouble with up for a month of service. My user name there is also Campagnola.

I got worldspot working like it should after a hard reset and reentering all the worldspot hotspot info again.

I can connect through wireless to the COOVAP router running the CoovaChilli hotspot with worldspot and get a 10.1.0.2 address.  And can login in with ticket user info and get on internet no problem.