Author Topic: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi  (Read 97790 times)

Offline Franxis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
« on: March 08, 2007, 04:20:50 pm »
I am running v23sp2 and everything works great with both the LAN and the WLAN until I activate Chilli.  I am not able to pass DHCP with Chilli unless I select both LAN/WLAN under the settings.  At that point it works but I am really only wanting to use chilli for the wireless portion.  I have enabled/disabled the Separate Wifi from the LAN bridge and in both cases it will only work if the DHCP interface is set to WLAN/LAN.  When I issue the route command I see the 192.168.182.x network present in both instances.

Has anyone else had this issue?  Is this a known bug?

Thanks

Offline WorldSpot

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2472
Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2007, 05:05:50 pm »
Please check the DNS address.
If it doesn't work please revert to factory settings then reboot, then reinstall.

Offline Franxis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2007, 11:15:01 pm »
I have used several dns servers - currently I am using a combination of both 4.2.2.2 and my local provider.  Where would you like me to check as I not sure I am checking in the right spot.


~ # ping radius.worldspot.net
PING radius.worldspot.net (88.191.29.2): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 88.191.29.2: icmp_seq=0 ttl=45 time=119.8 ms
64 bytes from 88.191.29.2: icmp_seq=1 ttl=45 time=198.0 ms
64 bytes from 88.191.29.2: icmp_seq=2 ttl=45 time=180.1 ms

PING radius2.worldspot.net (82.243.41.29): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 82.243.41.29: icmp_seq=0 ttl=46 time=155.8 ms
64 bytes from 82.243.41.29: icmp_seq=1 ttl=46 time=421.7 ms
64 bytes from 82.243.41.29: icmp_seq=2 ttl=46 time=392.0 ms


Offline WorldSpot

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2472
Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2007, 11:44:52 pm »
I didn't understand, sorry  :-[. Your chillispot was working only with both lan and wlan.

Have you made a factory reset? It often helps.

What is your hardware? Is it a linksys?
I tested the separation on both linksys wrt54gl and asus wl500gd with no problem (I'm only using it this way).
Maybe on some hardware, the device names are not the same...
You can check the device names with ifconfig and check that it is the same in the /tmp/chilli.conf
You should also run chillispot in debug mode ( chilli -fd -c /tmp/chilli.conf )


Offline Franxis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2007, 02:09:48 am »
I tried that several times thus far and I am still not able to get dhcp to work unless I allow dhcp interface to be on the wlan/lan at the same time.  When I run the debug mode it just hangs.
Any info I can give you to help?

Offline WorldSpot

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2472
Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2007, 12:20:34 pm »
Quote
When I run the debug mode it just hangs.
Do you get the chillispot welcome message?
Quote
Any info I can give you to help?
Quote
What is your hardware? Is it a linksys?
Quote
Have you made a factory reset? It often helps.

Offline Franxis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
« Reply #6 on: March 11, 2007, 11:08:39 pm »
When I run the Debug it hangs on the Welcome Message.

Linksys WRT54G version 2.0

About 10 factory resets and uploading code inbetween.

Offline WorldSpot

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2472
Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
« Reply #7 on: March 11, 2007, 11:47:07 pm »
please type ifconfig and paste the content here

Offline Franxis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2007, 03:23:00 am »

~ # ifconfig
br0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0F:66:0A:20:BD 
          inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:691 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:699 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:91325 (89.1 KiB)  TX bytes:167150 (163.2 KiB)

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0F:66:0A:20:BD 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1760 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1163 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:246766 (240.9 KiB)  TX bytes:263765 (257.5 KiB)
          Interrupt:5

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0F:66:0A:20:BF 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING ALLMULTI MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:99
          TX packets:0 errors:110 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:76 (76.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:4 Base address:0x1000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:892 (892.0 B)  TX bytes:892 (892.0 B)

tun0      Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 
          inet addr:192.168.182.1  P-t-P:192.168.182.1  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:10
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

vlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0F:66:0A:20:BD 
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:703 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:705 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:95026 (92.7 KiB)  TX bytes:170330 (166.3 KiB)

vlan1     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0F:66:0A:20:BE 
          inet addr:X.X.X.X  Bcast:X..X.X  Mask:255.255.248.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1048 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:461 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:119135 (116.3 KiB)  TX bytes:88824 (86.7 KiB)

This is a new Error: It used to just hang

 # chilli -fd -c /tmp/chilli.conf
chillispot[526]: ChilliSpot 1.0. Copyright 2002-2005 Mondru AB. Licensed under GPL. See http://www.chillispot.org for credits.
chillispot[526]: radius.c: 1020: calloc() failed
chillispot[526]: chilli.c: 3689: Failed to create radius

Offline Franxis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2007, 03:55:47 am »
I thought this might be helpful:


radiusserver1 radius.worldspot.net
radiusserver2 radius2.worldspot.net
radiussecret x.x.x.x.x.x.x.
dhcpif eth1
uamserver https://secure.worldspot.net/wk/Uam
dns1 4.2.2.2
uamsecret x.x.x.x
radiusnasid QuizMo456
dynip 192.168.182.0/25



# ps
  PID  Uid     VmSize Stat Command
    1 root        376 S   /sbin/init noinitrd
    2 root            SW  [keventd]
    3 root            SWN [ksoftirqd_CPU0]
    4 root            SW  [kswapd]
    5 root            SW  [bdflush]
    6 root            SW  [kupdated]
   11 root            SW  [mtdblockd]
   14 root        256 S   /sbin/watchdog
   65 root        308 S   resetbutton
   95 root        396 S   /usr/sbin/telnetd
   98 root        796 S   httpd
  107 root        416 S   nas -P /tmp/nas.wl0lan.pid -H 34954 -l br0 -i eth1 -A -m 4 -k xxxxx -s QuizMo456 -w
  109 root        360 S   dnsmasq --conf-file /tmp/dnsmasq.conf
  113 root        296 S   /sbin/wland
  293 root       4836 S   /usr/sbin/chilli -c /tmp/chilli.conf
  321 root        340 S   process_monitor
  367 root        276 S   /usr/sbin/cron
  408 root        268 S   udhcpc -i vlan1 -p /var/run/udhcpc.pid -s /tmp/udhcpc -H SRVT5R
  412 root        524 S   -sh
  469 root        404 R   ps
« Last Edit: March 12, 2007, 03:57:49 am by Franxis »

Offline WorldSpot

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2472
Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2007, 08:21:05 am »
Quote
chillispot[526]: radius.c: 1020: calloc() failed
Seems that you don't have enough memory

Could you try the coova AP firmware?

Offline Franxis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2007, 02:49:57 pm »
I am willing to give it a try but that is the only time I got that error and I spent an additional 5 hours troubleshooting.  The strange this is that this worked the first time I set it up until I changed the dhcp settings.  Also it works like a charm if I select WLAN/LAN and my intitial thought is that probably would take more memory to run?

I reset and reloaded firmware 5 more times.  I also reset to factory defaults before and after the upgrades.


Offline WorldSpot

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2472
Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2007, 04:56:35 pm »
there have been reports of similar problems:
Quote
I would always recommend factory defaults when hanging firmware on dd-wrt. Particularly with chillispot which seems to break if you touch it's DHCP Interface. It simply stops working and needs a factory reset to get chilli working again.
http://worldspot.net/forum/index.php/topic,13.msg316.html#msg316
It seems that it is related to your linksys model also.

Offline Franxis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
« Reply #13 on: March 12, 2007, 06:00:47 pm »
I think I have done about 20 or so factory resets.  Still does not work.
I have been working on it now and I just went through a factory default, uploaded code, factory default, factory default, and then configuration.

Still will not work unless I put both WLAN/LAN as DHCP interface. 

I am going to put it back to linksys firmware, factory default, reload dd-wrt v23sp2, factory defaults, reboot, factory defaults, and this time not touch the dhcp portion.
I will send you my results.  Did any of my above information help?  I think it is a bug at this point that is why I am attempting to continue troubleshooting.

Thanks

Offline DenbyWireless

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 111
Re: DHCP - Not working with Chilli and Wifi
« Reply #14 on: March 12, 2007, 10:17:49 pm »
Would you consider using SP3 to see if it makes a difference ? It's out there on dd-wrt's site.  Just an idea.